Just another WordPress.com site

Aspiring Blogger

When I first started working, I remember my parents celebrating every job I found. We’d go out to dinner and toast my new work. Whether it was a job steaming clothes in the back of a tiny thrift store, working retail, or tending to a garden, they were happy with each new step. Then I got a few internships and that was like a promotion. Now, I’ve graduated college and I should be getting my first entry level position somewhere. However, I recently started working as a waitress. We haven’t celebrated this new job.

My parents and I both put money into my education and I’m thankful I received it. I think they were just at a place where they didn’t fully understand what’s going on.  What’s going on is I’m changing directions. I’ve been interested in acting since I was little. I wrote all through college. I wasn’t sure I would be able to make a living at either of these professions. Recently I decided, I don’t care.  I’m always going to want to write and act, they were always the dreams in the back of my mind. Trying to make this happen is ultimately more worth it than finding a “stable” job at a place I’m not interested in.  I feel like celebrating this new job because it’s a start, everything in my life right now is. I’ve often been a shy and private person, but I’m starting to open up. My parents have now told me it’s okay for me to do whatever, because the key to being happy is doing what you’re passionate about, and that’s different for everyone. Seriously, my dad had this insight because he got a new job doing the kind of accounting he likes. I can’t even begin to explain it because I don’t understand a word of it but he’s been thrilled since he started because he loves the work.

There’s a lot of things I want to do. I’ve joined a writing group, am taking acting classes, and am starting to save money so I can move to LA. I also have other goals, I want to try new things and learn as much as I can. I have a lot of things to aspire to and I’m ready to get started.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

