Just another WordPress.com site

First Screenwriters Meeting

I went to my first screenwriters meeting last night. There were two other people there and one of them wasn’t a screenwriter. As a man arrived, I was finding out information about the group from the member who was there. She mentioned there wasn’t normally a low turnout, and he commented that the same thing happened with his robotics club. Being a terrible person, I thought to myself ‘nerd’, but then again I suppose I meant it as a compliment. If I understood anything about robots I’d probably be one of those people that builds the fighting ones that have hammers for hands.  I think those exist, or at least I’m pretty sure one did on TV.

This man wanted someone to make a movie about his recent experiences. He described himself as a normal person who, wanting to take a risk, entered a series of challenges that involved robots and big prize money. However, he never won any of the contests. He spent a huge amount of money, well huge in my eyes, financing his team and almost lost his home. He did have an interesting story and was very enthused about telling it and making a movie.

I do not know anything about science, or robots. A majority of what he said went over my head, though I was pretty intrigued by one of the competitors he mentioned. They were a group of college kids who, in addition to the challenge requirements, had their robot also play beer pong. He saw that as pretty disgraceful so I didn’t say anything. I admired him though. He had a normal life and suddenly everything in it was consumed with robots. They had to use his house, his equipment, his money for the whole project. And here he is, telling more people that might not understand and think he’s weird about his robot story.  Sometimes it amazes me when people can so easily be themselves.

Sometimes I still have a problem being comfortable around strangers; it can take me a while to warm up to people. But this served as my reminder for the night. You like what you like, just embrace it. If a man can walk up to two strangers and start animatedly telling them about his adventures building robots, it’s okay to let yourself be whoever you want to be too.

And overall, the night was a success. The other writer there offered to take a look at my script, so I’ll be happy to get feedback from her.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

